Kinesiologist

Vanessa Paragas

SERVICE OFFERED
BY VANESSA

Languages

  • English
  • French

READ MORE ABOUT VANESSA

It was almost by chance that Vanessa found the existence of the kinesiology program which seemed to be the perfect blend between her interest in science, her love for movement, and desire to empower through education. She started working as a personal trainer throughout her studies and graduated from McGill University in 2012. Shortly after graduation, she obtained her kinesiology license as a member of the Fédération des Kinésiologues du Québec. 

Over the last twelve years, Vanessa has worked in many different environments ranging from the university setting, to gyms big and small, in person and virtually. While the majority of her interventions are one-on-one, Vanessa has also taught classes, small-group trainings, and workshops. No matter if they are senior citizens new to exercise, trained athletes conditioning for sport, or new moms who are unsure about how to kickstart their fitness journeys, Vanessa is comfortable working with clients with different needs. Her broad experience allows her to feel comfortable in adapting her interventions to whoever is in front of her and with the equipment that is available. 

Vanessa’s natural curiosity and desire to solve complex challenges has driven her to acquire further knowledge in many departments that impact physical activity behavior. It is through maintaining a beginner’s mind, being aware of her blindspots and seeking to learn more that she believes that she can be best informed to provide her patients the care they need. Her continuing education journey includes training in injury prevention, rehabilitation and performance, perinatal exercise prescription (prenatal & postpartum), mental health (motivational interviewing, body image, stress management, depression, anxiety, and trauma). In 2021, she completed her Frederick Stretch Therapy Level 1 certification with Stretch to Win Institute.

While exercise is often linked with the pressure to use exercise to change one’s body, Vanessa seeks to use her knowledge to help her clients understand how amazing the human body is, how much it does for us, and to use movement as a powerful tool to help connect us to it, respect it and celebrate it. Over the last years, Vanessa has participated in projects aimed to help people reclaim themselves from the pressure of diet-culture including contributing to an online course and building a module on intuitive movement, collaborated/has been cited in a book on fatphobia (Au-dela de la grossophobie - Redéfinir son bien-être et habiter son corps by Julia Lévy-Ndejuru and Marilou Morin-Laferrière), and in summer of 2023 she has had the opportunity to participate in Quebec’s first province-wide awareness campaign against fatphobia (La grossophobie, ça suffit!).

Kinésiologue

Vanessa Paragas

SERVICES OFFERTS
PAR VANESSA

Langues

  • Anglais
  • Français

LIRE DAVANTAGE SUR vanessa

C’était quasiment par hasard que Vanessa a pris connaissance du programme de kinésiologie qui lui semblait le mélange parfait de ses intérêts pour les sciences, le mouvement, et son désir de créer du positif via l’enseignement. Elle a commencé à travailler comme entraîneur personnel à travers ses études et a gradué de l’Université McGill en 2012. Peu après sa graduation, elle a obtenu sa licence de kinésiologie en tant que membre de la Fédération des Kinésiologues du Québec. 

Au cours des douze dernières années, Vanessa a travaillé dans différents types de centres de conditionnement physique (universitaire, grande chaîne, privé) et a offert ses services en présentiel comme en virtuel. Pendant que la majorité de ses interventions se font individuellement, Vanessa a aussi enseigné des cours de groupe, des entraînements semi-privés, et des ateliers. Elle est très à l’aise à travailler avec des client(e)s ayant divers besoins que ce soit le désir de commencer à bouger, l’exploration de la motivation, ou la prévention de blessures. Son expérience lui permet d’adapter ses interventions à la personne devant elle, peu importe le milieu et les moyens disponibles. 

Sa curiosité, sa soif de défis complexes et son désir d’évolution professionnelle l’amenent à approfondir ses connaissances dans plusieurs sphères connexes à l’activité physique. C’est en gardant cette soif d’apprendre et en étant à l’affût de ses angles morts que Vanessa est outillée pour donner à ses patient(e)s les soins adéquats. Elle a complété au-delà de 250 crédits de formations continues en prévention de blessures, réhabilitation, performance, entraînement périnatal et santé mentale (entretien motivationnel, image corporelle, gestion de stress, dépression, anxiété, trauma). En 2021, elle a complété sa certification niveau 1 de Frederick Stretch Therapy par la Stretch to Win Institute.

Quoique l’exercice est souvent associé à la pression de changer son corps, Vanessa cherche à utiliser ses connaissances pour aider ses client(e)s à voir comment le corps humain est incroyable et elle utilise le mouvement comme outil pour nous aider à nous y connecter, à le respecter, et à le célébrer. À travers les dernières années, Vanessa a participé à des projets ayant pour but d’aider les gens à se détacher de la pression de la culture des régimes et à se réapproprier et habiter leurs corps. Ces projets incluent la création d’un module portant sur le mouvement intuitif pour un cours en ligne, la collaboration/être référée dans un livre portant sur la grossophobie (Au-delà de la grossophobie – Redéfinir son bien-être et habiter son corps par Julia Lévy-Ndejuru et Marilou Morin-Laferrière) et lors de l’été 2023, elle a eu l’opportunité de participer à la première campagne de sensibilisation sur la grossophobie au Québec (La grossophobie, ça suffit!).